Robert Ostrochovsky

By youoregon1

On The Way To Work

Funny how yesterday's late 'on the way home' balances with today's. Both taken from the car, at a stoplight, in a hurry. And both offering some vivid color and rectangular architecture.
A thank you to martindawe 's reference to yesterday's being Hopper-esq.

The above must be a brand new paint job. Had not noticed it before. The building has had a number of businesses but it is a rotten location with rotten parking. I think we had margaritas there once when it was ala Mexican.

Just found some great Hopper quotes.

No amount of skillful invention can replace the essential element of imagination.
More of me comes out when I improvise.
The only real influence I've ever had was myself.
If you could say it in words there would be no reason to paint.
I trust Winsor and Newton and I paint directly upon it.
My aim in painting has always been the most exact transcription possible of my most intimate impression of nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.