Heart and Souled

By DebsP

"It's been a good journey"

This quote is from a lady, Fay, who we met on a Croydon tram and whose photo I took really badly, so badly I can't do her the injustice of sharing it here. I completely missed her twinkling eyes , full of more than a hint of mischief. We were laughing as I had no coat and it had started to rain. She said she never goes anywhere without a hat or umbrella and has them tucked in every handbag. This habit is born of experience. Last Thursday was the anniversary of her arrival in the UK , fifty years ago. She was travelling from a church service, carrying her Jamaican flag, where she'd been celebrating with other folk who'd made the UK their home. Our smiling and laughing stopped for a moment, ".......and how has it been?" she looked me in the eye and told me "It's been a good journey". I wanted to cry so did that warm my heart.

Her parting words to me were, 'Don't talk to any more strangers and ask to take their picture". She hadn't even seen how badly I'd done it.

This shot however is of our delightful lunch venue where they'd kindly put mirrors on the wall for the blip-hunters amongst us! Three blippers shopping was hilarious "I'll just ..." *dashes off* etc etc ! Great day. Now the party ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.