The First Frost

Dear Diary,

We had a light frost last night.  Not a real killing frost but some plants succumbed.  Not these tough little sedum though.  I love their delicate pink and white flowers.  It seems to hint at spring although that is just a memory now.  So is summer.  I will begin cutting back the garden on Thursday.  A sure sign that it is time to hang up the hoe and take down the rake!

It is supposed to be in the mid-60's F today so I am off to the fair.  I haven't been in a few years and I'm looking forward to it.  It is a beautiful fairgrounds with a nice museum and old school house to explore as well as all the displays and animals.

I am making slow progress on "winterizing" the house.  The generator was tuned up yesterday but there is so much left to do.  I will take today off, however, and enjoy the fair.  We "seniors" have free admission on Tuesdays!  Have to take advantage of that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.