"Coca de llardons"

This is a very typical cake eaten for "la revetlla de sant Joan", which I mentioned in my previous blip, a night people celebrate with bonfires and fireworks. My mum made this one especially for me because I had to go back to Edinburgh today and I couldn't celebrate. It's really yummy. Made with puff pastry, lard, pine nuts and sugar.

Last night I had a great time with my friends celebrating Sant Joan (St. John) the day before but, as a result, I was feeling very tired this morning. I had to get up earlyish as well because I had to do all my packing!! As usual, leaving things to the very last minute!

It's been a long journey from Barcelona to Edinburgh stopping in Heathrow. I arrived just an hour ago. The flight went well and I'm back here safe and sound. I'm feeling not only tired but emotionally drained as well. When I go to Barcelona there's always a turmoil of feelings in my mind. It's like a journey through time which awakens thoughts and memories that remain dormant while I'm here in Edinburgh. It's a very strange feeling and leaves me feeling weird for a few days. That on top of the sad news about my friend. Holiday blues kicking in? Probably!

While I was on the airport bus heading back home, there were a couple of guys standing on the front stairs of an old tennement building, with their faces painted in white. One was holding a sign saying "show your boobs" and the other was doing some kind of sign language explaining what the sign said. Bizarre! And I thought that you could only see surreal things in Barcelona!

Anyway. Back to cold and cloudy weather. Going back to work on Monday, but glad I'm not longer required for jury duty!

Thanks very much for all your comments on my holiday blips. I tried my best to reply back, but I didn't have time to catch up with everybody, unfortunately. At least I don't have to do any back blipping now!

I hope you're all having a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.