creative lenna

By creativelenna

a walk in light rain

I often take a short walk into the cemetery which is directly behind our home. I need to walk around the block to get there because there is a large fence between us, but still, it is a nice quiet, contemplative place to go. When the dogs don't accompany Steven to Lucas boatworks, they come with me.

In the rain, it felt a bit sad today. We walked around the neighborhood first, then came here. I only realized afterwards when looking at the photos at home that the husband has passed away, but the wife is still living at 88 years old -this site saved for her final resting. I actually was drawn to this particular grave site because the flowers in the vase looked so real. Hard to tell in black and white but they were actually not real. Just much higher quality than most I've seen here. My photos are immensely different from my friend in Scotland, Frieda - Art Quilter Photos. Florida is so much younger!! The contrast is interesting, though.

In between the 2 stones, there is a smaller stone in front of the vase that was hard to read. It was hand carved and spoke of what a good man the father was that was buried there, I think written by his daughter. It made me think of my own dad, who passed 8 months ago.

My dogs Asia & Chloe are well behaved here and I try to keep them respectful, plus I pick up after them too. On this rainy day we all needed to get out and stretch our legs and fortunately it was only a light rain then. I had other contenders for today's blip but this somewhat sad one won out; very different from my usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.