MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Hide and Seek

I had been for a short walk to a field that is growing poppies for sale to the pharmaceutical industry. On the way I had taken some photos of pigs destined for Waitrose; and dog roses. As I returned I saw this little wood mouse scurrying along the side of the road. I got two blurry shots as it scooted off but I could see where it was hiding; somehow it stayed still while I got in front of it and took a few shots and the round to the side. Can't help but think it is no long for this world if I can track it. They are supposed to be nocturnal. They eat seeds and small invertebrates, such as caterpillars and larvae, they also like blackberries but will only eat the pips! In turn they are a valuable food source for tawny owls.
Somewhat surprisingly it has been sunny here; a lot of rain overnight and the forecast was for high winds and rain. We got the wind, every plant shot I took was blurred.

PS - Update from yesterday - book finished last night. Excellent read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.