TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Nanna wouldn't like it

Next door's washing line.

Isn't it funny the traditions that get handed down? I could no more leave the pegs on the line than stand in front of a moving train.

My Nanna was a fantastic character (as were some of her sisters). She came from a family of 13 and many of them lived to a good old age (over 100 in Nanna's case). She outlived both her son and her daughter (my mum).

What did Nanna instil in me?
* Never have the mik bottle on the table (must be in a jug) - sorry Nanna, gave up on that one.
*Always have a bag packed for hospital - what? where do I keep that?
* Wash the 3 Fs every day (face, feet and another part of the female anatomy I couldn't type here) - well, thank god for showers
* Shoes should always be clean, including the backs (apparently her father used to walk behind them to check)

One fun thing that Nanna handed on is pollybottomitis. If anyone passed wind she would say "Who's let Polly out of the cage?" - over the years this got shortened to "Who's Pollied?" or "who has a bad case of Pollybottomitis?"

Nanna - we still love you and will never forget you. xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.