TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Moon Rise~

~At Sun Down~

Went up to Catalina Ridge Road again this evening.
As I pull up to my favorite scenic overlook I got a surprise.
There was another photographer already there, clicking away.
Well, I guess 'my favorite scenic overlook' isn't just for me!
Came close to running him over as I wheeled the truck in.
Don't jump to conclusions, I'm not that territorial or vindictive.
It's a very narrow turn out on a curve on a narrow road.
As I climb out of the ol' Ford he looks at me and speaks.
"You must be Biker Jim!" I almost feel back in the truck!
How did the guy, who I'd never seen before, know Biker Jim?
Turns out that Gene, who I meet up here 2 day ago, call him.
And Gene related the camera conversation we had to Kent.
Had great talk with Kent, that lasted well after sundown, again.
I very much expect that the next time I come up here the entire
Digital Camera Club will be trying to park and/or photograph up here.
This roadside turnout may just have to be widened and lengthened.

Thanks for stopping along Catalina Ridge Road with me,
And be careful as you pull in, I maybe the one you run over!!!

Edit:
I seem to be in a vertical mode lately.
And being 60 years of age that's a lot
better than being in a horizontal mode.

;o))


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Epilogue #6

(I am back to the Pros and Cons format again.)

Pros - I was up at 5 a.m. this morning and captured some beautiful sunrise images. Had breakfast and then off to my book club that meets at 7:30. That ended at 9:00 and I was off to the local community pool for some more photography. With no one around I had the place to myself, and of course my camera. Got some great shots of the blue water, the rows of yellow pool chairs and a white patio cover backed by the azure blue sky. Got home about noon and ate lunch followed by a little nap. I'm 60 remember? Back out in my backyard around 4 p.m. photographing some of my cactus. That is where I took this 'Moon Rise' picture. Once I realized we might have a decent sunset this evening I drove up to Catalina Ridge Road. What a sunset display it was, too! And it probably last an extraordinary 1 hour! Many, many clicks later I ended up back home for dinner. Then went into the den for some Photoshop work and finally the Blip posting. I loved every single minute of my day, almost!!!

Cons - Out of 197 photographs I had to choose just one. My least favorite part of this whole Blip thing. How the heck can I cull down almost two hundred images to just one. But I have too!!! Far be it from me to say that even 10% of them were worth considering as the image of the day. Some of them were of equal value though, how the heck do I decide? Some of my criteria for choosing is, when did I last post an image like this, how much Photoshop work is needed before pass out from exhaustion, color or monochrome, saturate or leave it be, which one would I want hanging on my wall? It is now 2:18 in the morning as I hit the upload button. Whew!!! But what if by bad planning or wrong thinking the image looks worse on Blip than it did in Photoshop. Then it's back to the ol' drawing board, I mean to ol' computer. ugh, thud, wheeze!!!


I guess what I'm trying to say is, that after my 365th I need to spend more casual time on one image, let alone the 20 or so I had to reject. But still post to my beloved BlipFoto the photographs I feel deserve to be uploaded. To tell the truth this 'post one photo a day, taken on that day, and not miss a day' stuff is, to say the least, killing me. But what an exhilarating way to be kill't. ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.