Summer garden

After an early morning dog walk along the river, I had a largely home-based day preparing a guide to Cambridgeshire's fens and swamps, ready for a training course that I'm giving tomorrow. While I was working at that, Alex was completing the last few bits and pieces to hand in tomorrow. Pete had gone off early, to survey a site in Berkshire and Chris was walking from Peterborough to Stamford with Lizzy, so the house was relatively quiet. It seemed a shame to be indoors working on the computer, because for once the sun was shining and it felt truly summery. In my breaks I sneaked ten minutes in the garden, which is looking wonderful at the moment - especially the poppies and daisies - although the lawn's getting out of hand again.

In the late afternoon I received a text asking me whether I could pick Chris and Lizzy up from the station, as they were too exhausted to walk any further. Twelve miles in the unexpected heat had been a bit much, especially as Chris seemed was suffering from a nasty cold. They were both slightly sunburnt and dehydrated, but lots of water soon helped with that. I just hope Chris feels a bit better before he sets off for Sweden on Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.