On our way home

Oh what a crazy day! Our journey started in the airport. Flying standby is always an adventure, and today was a perfect example. The boys and I only just managed to get onto a flight to Los Angeles from Phoenix, while my hubby barely managed a flight to San Francisco. Once in LAX, we checked into our next flight only to discover it was delayed by 2.5 hours. Chaos began with paying customers racing to get on other flights, and the standby list began to multiply exponentially. I didn't really know what to do. I figured we'd just wait it out hoping that people would bail for other flights, thus opening up seats on our seriously late flight.

The boys and I waited and waited. We ate the most expensive (and utterly disgusting) sandwiches ever. We raced back and forth between the kiosks and two other flights. We searched for plug ins for my cell phone and kindle. We were busy.

In the end, I collapsed on a seat next to an older woman waiting patiently. I was sure it was game over. We started as numbers 44, 45 and 46 on the standby list and only made it to 18, 19, and 20. My oldest said, "We're doomed." I agreed. Then a miracle happened. They were still working the list, and there were only about 7 of us left in the gate area. Everyone else had given up. So at the last second, we got seats. Off to San Francisco we went to catch up with my husband.

I also have to note the wonderful individuals on the plane that swapped seats with us. My oldest was twice separated from me by the seating arrangement, and each time someone offered to switch seats with him so we could be together.

This is my smallest enjoying his first monorail/tram ride from the airport terminal to the rental cars. Our flight home from San Francisco was cancelled. So instead of getting a hotel and waking at the crack of dawn once again, we rented a car one way to get us home. Only 10 more hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.