fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Feeding of Big Baby Heron!

On today's hooligan walk we were treated to watching the baby herons trying to fly and also eating a meal! This shot is when a parent flew in to feed them . I got a picture here of one of them about to score!

I felt very privileged to see this time in their young lives. Also Big R and I watched them flapping their wings and trying to fly. A few times they would go from branch to branch. But when feeding time came, they hopped back quickly to the nests.

The other day one had fallen down and was walking around exploring. Both Sadie and Cowboy spotted it and began barking at it. Since it is all fenced off around the base of the trees, the heron was relatively safe. We got the dogs away from it. I didn't have the camera, of course, that day. But I saw the baby up very close and it was so cute and a thrill to see. Signs said to leave it alone and let the parents take care of any fallen ones. I believe it was fine. Hope you enjoy this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.