Here's Stubby!

Dear Diary,

There is a new chipmunk on the block, this sweet little tailless one.  I've named him Stubby.  Some predator nearly got Stubby but in the end only got his tail.  He seemed completely healed and active, searching for seeds.  Philomena wasn't happy to see more competition so made short work of chasing the little one off.  Such drama on the back porch!

Another frosty morning...around 25 F.  My young helpers will be here later this morning to finish cutting back the garden...I hope.  It was very windy yesterday so many of the trees are losing their leaves.  I'll wait for the Maple to be bare before I start raking.

It may be the end of the gardening season but our gardening group will be meeting this afternoon to plan a garden - artist's studio tour next June to benefit area historical societies. That is the way with gardeners.  The season may be over but we already find ourselves planning for next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.