Sissinghurst Castle

Two of the surprise guests from yesterday were my Mother's  brother and his wife who stayed the night with me. I took them off to Sissinghurst Castle Garden and being keen gardeners they showed me how to collect seeds from quite a few plants.   The chance of the seeds becoming plants in my case is quite low.

 Sissinghurst "Castle" ( there is no castle)  is famous for being bought by Vita Sackville-West and her diplomat husband Harold Nicolson in the 1930s when it was a tumbledown assortment of mainly farm buildings  and cottages with a very, overgrown garden. . She paid £12,000 for it, (equivalent to £650,000 now)  spent £15,000 doing it up and creating the now famous  beautful gardens. After Vita's death in 1962, Harold gave it to the National Trust. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.