Things from a small yet large life

It is quiet and empty at my house. There is no little black cat but of course I expect to see him. I saw him by the door this morning, but it was just my black bike shoes with the yellow bits on them.

His blankets and covers are washed, folded and in storage until the next fur child comes along.

The bowls, tray, zoom-groom brush (you'll have to google it, they're brilliant), and pill dispenser are washed and neatly stacked. There will be another little fella to use them.

The upstairs and downstairs scratching posts stand idle, lost sentinels without a job to do. I'm yet to see how a new chap feels about them. One of the scratching posts I built for Wilson.

I don't know what to do with the cat nip balls and mouse. Time will take care of them I guess. For now I've left them where they are, but they're tangible reminders of the yawning gap.

I vacuumed on Sunday afternoon but still I find black fur. The vet says I'll still be picking black fur off my clothes in 6 months time.

Work treated me gently. I think being a cat person is a pre-requisite to working there. Maybe that's why I got the job ;-)

I have flowers, a pot plant, cards, and many other kindnesses have been extended to me. But I don't have Wilson. Well I do in my heart. It's early days, day 1 actually...

Thank you for the many comments, thoughts and prayers. They help more than you'll ever know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.