Coming up the Hill

12.8C and dull with one or two sunny spells. Moderate breeze.

More time spent on family tree work this morning. I updated one generation of a family from the research and discoveries of this week to the genealogy website I use and to genealogy software my own computer. Then I did the confirmation research on the next generation, to add the siblings of a known direct ancestor to my family tree. Fourteen children in all in the one generation! I am left with three of the children that I (and the South African researcher I contacted yesterday) think belong to the family but who were born and died between censuses. That makes proving that they belong to the family difficult without ordering expensive records. One hope is that updating on the online genealogy site will match with other people's family trees and that they might have seen the records.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch. The Nano was on shuffle. We went up to the church then continued out along the country road to Scryne. A tractor was parked in the corner of the cauliflower field but there was no sign of the harvesters. We turned right at Craigmill farm and went down the track to the shore road. As we walked down the track a tractor with a trailer loaded with bales was coming up the hill in the field. A little forklift, driven by the farmer was following along collecting bales and adding some to the pile on the trailer as they came up the hill.

We came back along the cycle path and round in a long loop, heading into Carnoustie then up the main road before turning along for home.

E-PL5 f/7.1 1/160 sec. ISO-200 28mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.