Story Telling #7

Milan is great for the occasional unexpected.  After leaving the camera holstered for the better part of the past two weeks, I just had to get out on the Street a little.  Back to the 50 mm focal length... which is a good challenge to me.  28 is easy, but I get tired quickly of the focal length.  35 is my favorite - best mix of getting in close and capturing the scene.  24 is a wunderful experience and challenge to get in tight, but takes care for alligning the leading lines...  50 mm is about anticipating the action to stay far away enough to get the entire subject in the frame and then timing the distance.  So for me is one of the hardest to get right.

Today was the occassion of the Show Leica / Leica Show for the new SL camera which I decided to walk to the gallery.  I would share a photo from the SL, but I really didn't take any 'great' pictures.  I was more interested to just put my hands on it and work through shooting it.  Very interesting camera that I am sure is going to appeal to a lot of professionals and passionate amateurs.  It is a bomb of a camera!!!  It will take a bit of time to get it out into the masses and develop the new series of lens.  Sony has done the job for it's 'professional' mirrorless series.  It will take time for Leica too.  I bet a lot of professional Canon and Nikon shooters will take the plunge, but the price will always be a hurdle for any net gain in quality.   For me, the old fashioned fully manual range finder is still king of the hill!!!

Anyway, that's the boring part out of the way.  The walk to and from the Leica Show was very interesting and fun... I don't know where this tiger girl came from and where she went, but that's part of the fun shooting the Street.  I can never stay in one place to wait for something to happen and always walk toward the next occassion.  This one kind of fell out of the blue and begged for a photo (or two).

I followed the tiger tail for a block or two.  Good laughs and fun to watch how people reacted to her.  My intended direction deviated shortly after this shot and I so left her to her future.  I wonder what it entails... anyone care to fill in the blank?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.