Johnny and the Gang

I am very distracted at the moment. There is so much going on that I'm forever losing the thread of what I'm supposed to be doing. I was on the train to Menston for the meeting of our writer's group, having just popped into town to print out my short Halloween story. I hadn't had time to finish it but I thought I could at least read out half the tale, and hopefully leave people in suspense. I didn't want to blob on the assignment again. I thought I'd have a practice read and got so absorbed in what I was doing that I passed right through Menston station. I got quite a surprise when I came to get off and found myself at Guiseley. It was while I was waiting to catch a train back down the line that I met Johnny and his gang of likely lads. He was very accommodating. I took his portrait while his mates were completely taking the piss out of him!

I did eventually turn up to the group to much mickey-taking. The Halloween pieces read by everyone were all so fascinatingly different and so entertaining. It's been a little bit intimidating to be confronted with so much talent - but I think this is exactly what we need to help develop our skills, and to just encourage us to actually pick up pen and paper in the first place, and also to get better at reading. There are some really great performers in the group

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.