Arachne

By Arachne

Blue flats

Thanks to everyone for such kind comments about the redundancy - you are a very lovely and supportive bunch. I'm not feeling too bad about it - there are lots of things I'd like to do (though I haven't yet worked out how to make any of them generate an income) and I'm sure something exciting will turn up.

For now I've volunteered to take part in a huge community (Olympic) arts event that's happening in two weeks' time, and this afternoon I went to a briefing. It involves 1,200 performers and a choir of 450 around a five-storey-high 'tree' of light in 'a visual and sonic feast for the senses - full of drama, excitement and joy. It is an exuberant and highly physical celebration of the natural world and of our part in it'. Some of the light will be fireworks and some will be generated by 50 cyclists, of whom I will be one. Most of the others are rather scary 17-year-old sports students and their teachers, but the organisers seemed not to mind me being old and grey. Apparently we'll be issued with white boiler suits, so I'm not sure of the scope for smuggling in a camera but I'll try.

After the briefing I climbed to the top of the multi-story car park in pursuit of some interesting railings, but was sidetracked by these blue flats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.