The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Abandoned Beauty

As I drove back towards the city today and through the most flooded areas of Northern Minnesota, I thought of the daunting tasks in front of those families whose properties were most severely damaged by the flood. The flood had yet to crest and many people were still wading into their homes to pull out water soaked items. I wish I could have helped them but client meetings waited my arrival. For these people, cleaning up is only the first of many tasks created by these unwelcomed waters. To me, the hardest decision would be whether to rebuild or not. So many times, once the flood paths have changed, the decision to rebuild is tantamount to a decision to wait again for another flood. I would imagine that the decision pits the heart against the mind. I did not force myself to answer the question "what would you do Giacomo?" even though I heard it several times in my own mind. I did not want to go there.

I then came upon this home that had been flooded in the last flood some 40 years ago but it had remained dry this time. In fact, it has been dry and abandoned since the last flood. I guess this family just walked away only to be fooled by Mother Nature and The Army Corp of Engineers again. Inside the home remained all of the possessions of the family as they were on the day of the flood. It had all of the stylish furniture of the 1960s and 1970s, the artwork, the beds and cabinets full of cloths and pots and pans. It appeared that they got in their car and drove away never to return again. Perhaps they found a new life high atop a hill. Perhaps that was their decision and they never looked back.

Thank you for your well wishes the last few days. I am happy to report that the water should crest tomorrow and that the forecast is dry and warm. Our property was only minimally affected along the shoreline and we are thankful for that. But, better yet, the waters in the most flooded areas remained quite stable throughout since late Saturday night so that many homes that were considered at high risk in fact snuck by the highest of waters unscathed.

To my eye, the image works a bit better in large if you have the time.

I have had zero in the way of photographic energy and little time to see blip journals the last four days but I want to thank you for your support and understanding. I hope to resume a normal schedule tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.