Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Epsom...and Bond

Despite me saying that all Christmas merchandise and rampant promotion of such consumerism should be banned until at least 1 November, I found myself buying Christmas crackers, an advent calendar for Thomas and even a new decoration for the tree. I could not help it - the little snowman decoration was winking at me to buy it, the advent calendar...well, we all know how the Lindt ones are sold out by the first week of November, and I might as well get the crackers now.

We went to Epsom today to see the new Bond movie, Spectre. Our local movie theatre is busy changing from an Odeon to an Everyman cinema and is still being refurbished, so we decided to go to Epsom. This little town is well known for its Epsom salts and the Epsom Darby. The salts originated from the town pond which in the middle ages stood where the market square stands today, as seen in this image. That lovely clock tower was erected in 1847, and is the prettiest part of a rather unattractive nondescript town.

I do love a man in a suit, and Daniel Craig fills his perfectly! Besides being gorgeous, he is a wonderful Bond. Spectre is everything we have been waiting for (since Skyfall) and the opening sequence is just mind blowing! The locations are exotic as always, although I did notice how little traffic there is in the streets of London when Bond is around. I am sad that this is the last time he will be playing that role. And did you know, that Skyfall, the house set in the Scottish Highlands in the previous Bond movie was actually  custom built for the film on Hankley Common near Elstead in Surrey. The land is owned by the British Ministry of Defence

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.