Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bouldering

My brother was kind enough to offer to take us out on a day trip while we were staying at my Mum's, so we headed over the moors and through the mountains to Dinorwig Power Station - the Electric Mountain, with me squidged up with the kids in the back and my Mum riding shotgun.

We enjoyed the tour into the mountain, where the turbines are housed. 11yo revealed his capacity to absorb almost everything he hears by talking confidently about "black starts" on the way back to my Mum's.

When my Dad took us on family day outings into Snowdonia as children we would invariably stop off by a lake to do some bouldering, so we thought we'd induct 11yo and 7yo into the family tradition. So here they are on the shores of Y Llynnau Mymbyr  having scaled the highest boulder in the neighbourhood. All that practice on the indoor traversing wall at the Electric Mountain visitor centre came in handy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.