The Joker

I had a short but fruitful excursion up to the top of the Walk - on a very crowded bus it was an honour to be able to give up my seat to first citizen of Leith Mary Moriarty, since the crumblie seats were already full of crumblies. (She would be Leith royalty if it wasn't a Peoples Republic). Then I went into that big white shop opposite Waverley steps (where the charming and helpful assistants all wear t-shirts of an elegant grey hue - you know, the same shade as Blipfoto used to be) and bought myself an iPad. The iPad I've grown accustomed to using daily is part of The Proper Job which I'll have to return when I stop. I've had the old one so long that it's kind of obsolete, so I was quite happy with whatever is the bottom of their current range.

I popped into the wee Sainsburys on my way back. It was only midday, but there was a young woman in full, splendid, witch-y garb with a totally bright green face using a self service till, accompanied by a chap in a raggedy tail-coat with a white face who might have been a vampire or indeed a joker. Glued to the window was the face of a little boy, transfixed by the sight. The witch gave him a cheery wave and he waved back, looking slightly confused. It was only then that I realised I didn't have a camera with me.

I did buy a couple of beers, however.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.