Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Teensy-weensy skipper

I was sitting out on the patio, waiting for Mimsy to make an appearance when I saw this tiny little skipper nectaring on my pincushion flowers. I scoured my butterfly field guide, and I think this may be a Tawny-edged skipper. I find the skippers very hard to identify, partly because they are so damned small. This one was about the size of my thumbnail, so dime-sized. I used the 4x close up to get some detail on it's fuzzy face. Hope you like it!

Thank you for propelling Mimsy into the Spotlight today! I tried to give her the good news when she popped her head out from under the hose box, but she got all shy and embarrassed and ran back to her den. Too bad, because then the blue jay, sporting his cone-head look swooped in and ate her peanuts. Don't worry, though, I tucked a few under the edge of the hose box for Mimsy.

I was watching a robin pecking around in the grass at the edge of the woods and so I snapped off a few quick shots. I was totally surprised when I loaded them onto my pc and found this show with his mouth full of worms and grubs! Quite the little over-achiever, isn't he?

Last night I got up around midnight and came downstairs to eat some cherries. Something told me to turn the back flood lights on ...and the sight that greeted me was the raccoon daintily prancing along the deck railing, checking things out. The glare of floodlights didn't concern him in the least and he minced over to the bird bath and had a nice long drink. Then, he climbed down, checked out the grill, and disappeared over the side of the deck. The nerve! And this is why no bird seed or suet can be left out anymore at night... At least he left the nectar alone. And at least he wasn't a bear. I'm counting my blessings. And while I was muttering under my breath, I was also smiling. The damned thing is kind of cute. Don't tell my hubs I said that, okay??

In my ongoing effort to thwart the 'coons and bears, I have hung a suet feeder outside of the second floor window. I can't think of anyway a critter could get up to it - let's hope I'm right. And, again, don't mention this to the hubs, okay???

Hope you're having a Terrific Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.