samsticks

By samsticks

Shebeen

I was pretty nervous all day today, in anticipation of the gig with The General Assembly tonight. I haven't been nervous for a gig for a few years now, so that was quite strange and nice in a weird way. I took it that I realised that the stakes are quite high with this band.

I left work a bit early and moved the kit in (I'd had to drive into town and park in the multistory car park - that meant carrying the whole thing 3 blocks through town to Shebeen).

A great venue - I'd like to play there again! We spent a bit of time soundchecking, then just hung around for a few hours until the first bands played. Here's David playing with some tone settings during sound check.

The gig went really well, and the feedback from the crowd was pretty phenomenal. The sound guy asked if he could be 'our engineer' and tour with us, which we took as a pretty good sign!

We're all excited about playing more together and getting ready for the gigs during Melbourne Music week in a fortnight!

The extra shots are the banjo player from the Willy Wagtails, and one of the shots from a timelapse that I set up from back of the stage during the gig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.