Adam's Images

By ajt

Hoverfly

Another day off work. Started early taking some wood to a friend to have it cut with his band saw. Fixed another bug on my computer - that's three problems fixed this week, I'm on a roll. After lunch chopped up some steak and kidney for a pie for dinner. This afternoon I been mostly tiding up stuff on my desktop and various low importance things.

My nice Amazon order turned up today, I've a nice new pair of cheap Sennheiser headphones for work - I didn't want to take my Beyerdynamic headphones in to work. I'll now be able to listen to my music and drown out the racket that is the office. I also ordered a pair of lowepro lens cases - the current ones are a bit fatter than the ones I bought about a decade ago and not quite as good a shape, but they will protect my lenses.

Before the light failed I went out into the garden to see what I could find. I took a few close-ups of roses and tried to get a decent macro of a bee. In the end the light wasn't perfect but a hoverfly rested long enough to get a half decent picture. I think it's a Lesser banded hoverfly (Syrphus vitripennis) - but I could be mistaken, I'm no expert. There are much better blips of hoverflies today but this is mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.