weewilkie

By weewilkie

and the river rises up

Out in it today. Out where the sky brings the river down on our heads, the streets gurgling. I went to get my leg x-rayed and everything is fine. The consultant was very happy and impressed by the bone's recovery. It's even grown over the pins already, but will probably take about a year to be fully back to where I was in May. And that anniversary is my next appointment. I skipped out of there.

Later I was at the bus stop waiting to go for a swim. There was, as ever, the fish that couldny swim among the lovely loose flow of the rain running down the shelter. A high keening sound fills the air and I turn and look and there it is, my ship has arrived and off I go.
Then the river rises up and the water comes falling down. Up on the upper deck the bus turns and slows and suddenly there again, riding the deep sky sea, is the mournful cry of a blue whale haunting and shuddering through our ride. It could have been the brakes, but for me it was the deep song of water proclaiming its element. Water cleansing itself and each one of us at sea this day.

All this was in my head as I swam. I stretched, I pulled, I breathed; I left a wake behind me. Turn, and back again with this perfect whalesong in my head. And turn...

 Onwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.