Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Did you see what KatyDid?

I crack myself up sometimes! I've been checking on the katydid nymph in the garden every day - he shows a preference for the dahlia blossoms, so it makes him kind of easy to spot. We have our daily ritual ... I "sneak" up on him with my lens and he scrunches down into the dahlia and "hides" from me. I think he is actually flirting with me. Or not. Hard to know with katydids. I like to think that this is the offspring of last year's Seamus the Katydid. I'm calling him Seamus Jr. And he may be better in eye-popping large!

Mimsy is still hiding under the garden hose box, but I enticed her out today for a quick nosh of dried fruit. She prefers the dried mango, says she is watching her figure. Now that she is famous, she's gone all diva on me.

The excitement this afternoon was my first sighting of a red-bellied woodpecker fledgling!! I walked out on the deck just in time to see Dad RBW with a strange looking RBW. Before I could lift Big Daddy, they flew up into the trees. However, I spotted the strange one hitching up a limb - definitey a young 'un! They have no red on their heads at this stage, so look like an odd RBW. I am hopeful that a little patience tomorrow will net me a good shot of father and offspring - keep your fingers crossed.

Had a new bee nectaring on the butterfly bush today and was able to get some decent shots. In fact, this was almost my blip, but I had to go with Seamus Jr. instead.

Thanks for all the comments on the skipper yesterday - saw it again today but it was not liking me or my lens...

Hey, it's Hump Day - and 3 more days until I jet out of here for the Left Coast!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.