Calstock Fireworks and Everything!!

Full on day! Seriously! But good fun!
I woke to lashings of rain and wind - again! By 11 it had eased and took Kes for a walk through the woods. This was more adventurous than I had anticipated! First he ran me into a wall chasing his ball - good job I put my hands out and saved my face! then I forgot he likes to retrieve his ball and then run behind me and come through my legs, laying down between them and dropping his ball. He bowled through my legs and nearly sent me flying! He is much stronger and bigger - with this and the walking and throwing i am either going to be well fit or a shadow of my former self!
I had time to shower once home and then Gilesy arrived - she fancied going to look round Cotehele gardens so left  Nibbler at home. I knew the garland in the Hall was being constructed, but we discovered there was also a craft fair! We both had a happy time spending and then set off round the garden - Gilesey got well excited and fell in love with the place! We stopped for a bit of lunch then went spending again!
After Gilesey left I grabbed Kes and went down to the Hall to take photos for The Angel - she was organising another evening for the Plymouth refugees and wanted a record of the event. I walked Kes on the football pitch - it was  totally  soggy and in parts was turning into a lake! Kes got well filthy! I left her in the car and photographed the hall and all the helpers - usual suspects - Homeopath Girl, Friend, Nellie of the Woods, Caring Woman, and Circus Girl! Then I took Kes home, fed her, Fat cat, the fish, locked up Tilly and after putting the radio on in the kitchen for Kes and drawing the blind in the attic for FatCat, returned to the hall!
The refugees came by train and minibus - 100 on the train! Unfortunately Great Western had only put on one carriage even though they had been informed of large numbers that night by The Angel! They headed straight for the food and after taking photos I grabbed a tea towel and started drying up! Then there was a bang and it was a mass exodus to watch the fireworks! The green and river bank was heaving with people, everyone in the surrounding area comes to calstock for the fireworks, and over the years the numbers have grown as other places stop doing them, so there are now food stalls and even a balloon seller! The fireworks were spectacular as usual - let off on the  Devon side of the river - frightening the Muscovies and I imagine the cows, and sending plumes of smoke down the river! 
Once finished it was back to the hall to serve cake and tea, the children got face painted and made paintings themselves, the men played chess, cards and table tennis. The Angel was presented with an award of recognition by START for Calstock being "The most refugee  friendly village in Devon and Cornwall." She has been running events for 6 years prompted by her work as a lawyer for refugees and asylum seekers.
Finally Friend and I wandered up the hill, bemused by the absolute traffic chaos as we went - there had also been a wedding of someone who had sailed the Atlantic solo in The Chapel, The Angels husband who runs the ferry had towed her up river from the boatyard to the quay for the reception! By heck it all happened today!
Once home it was a final walk for kes in the dark then I sat down and enjoyed Strictly! I took over 300 photos and decided to edit most of them in Flickr to save time! Not totally finished yet! But they are there! Cotehele will have to be done tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.