The Meadow of Misty Wistfulness

Yesterday's End of the Road was either going to represent the end of a hard slog and a launch into sun, relaxation and contentment, or (what actually happened) a fall into a chasm of frustration. There was a plan to be spending today in Spain but it had to be abandoned in favour of the debugging and configuration of software. I worked a 15 hour day yesterday to try to get everything finished in time but it took another long effort today to be able to finally deliver the new version of our application to our clients for sign-off. I've been feeling more than a little sorry for myself!

I finally left the office a bit before 6pm. The sun had come out this afternoon and it's been quite warm. It's actually felt like summer - finally. I was on the bike but undecided as to what route to take home. That soon unfolded as I headed straight out to Skipton, then Carleton, Broughton, Gargrave and Malham, by which time the sun had long disappeared and I'd encountered a few short showers. I was feeling rather mellow but decided to go back over the top from Malham, up the side of the cove and around to Arncliffe. A mist had settled on the hills here and, without a breath of wind, it was eerily quiet. This shot was taken from the roadside looking East towards the flanks of Fountains Fell.

I keep forgetting how stopping to take photos eats into the time and I realised at this point that I was cutting it fine to get back to Ilkley before dark. With that impetus I enjoyed a rapid final 25 miles to get me back for 9.45pm and 60 miles on the clock - just in time to catch most of the extra time and the penalty shoot-out in the Spain v Portugal semi-final. I've drawn Portugal in the office sweepstake but I wanted Spain to go through. Which is what they did. I can imagine that my friends over there will be joining in the wild celebrations!

As I descended into Wharfedale tonight there were some great cloudscapes looking to the East, but this photograph seems to speak for how I'm feeling at the moment. Finally, a debt of thanks once again for the comments and stars and hearts from yesterday. I love you for hanging in there with me. I know I would not be keeping this up if it wasn't for your feedback. I trust you appreciate that I've not got much spare time at the moment. I've even been struggling to find time to eat! Which reminds me ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.