St Magnus Cathedral, Kirkwall

I woke to a weak grey light seeping through the velux windows in the bedroom, and with the forecast for a day of heavy rain, I dared to look out of the window expecting the worst, but lo and behold, the overnight downpour had stopped and the roofs and paving stones were drying nicely in the wind. We had a reprieve for the time being.

But not for long. After a wool buying trip to Kirkwall and lunch at Birsay, the land disappeared under a fine shawl of low cloud and with it a light drizzle borne in on a cold east wind.
The locals seemed immune to the temperature, but the many tourists up in Orkney for the St Magnus Festival were wearing warm winter gear, and the cafes were doing a roaring trade.

I have to think we've been rather unlucky with the holiday weather this month, but perhaps a bit luckier up in the Northern Isles than had we stayed at home.
I have it on record that my neighbour in Edinburgh is having a difficult time trying to catch my primulas as they float off the patio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.