Colouring in for Christmas

In the village where I play table-tennis each Tuesday night, every club decorates a tree for the church's annual Christmas Tree Festival. Usually, we decorate bat/paddle shaped baubles, but this year we were asked to do something different! One member spotted these plywood characters that come with felt pens. So we've all been asked to decorate one and stick a photo of ourselves on the head. Thought adding a red, plastic nose added a little mystery to my fizzog. Can you guess the source of my improvised nose?

I know crimbo's a long way off, but the festival is early December and only lasts 3 days. Then we have to dismantle it all again. Presumably, it raises funds for the village and church. I did quite enjoy doing my colouring in! Taking it with me tomorrow night so, in case it goes astray, here it is on record! ;0)

I'm all dressed up for Christmas.
(I'm Rudolph, by the way.)
I haven't got a cough and cold;
My red nose? - That's for play!
The North Pole? - Yes, I've heard of it,
but never paid a visit.
I think it might be just too far
from Devon. Tell me, is it?

It doesn't really matter
if I cannot find the way -
I fear I'm not quite strong enough
to pull old Santa's sleigh.
There's one thing I'm not sure about:
when it's time for bed,
should I take my antlers off
or sleep in them instead?

Another tiny worry
concerns my bright red nose.
I may have to stay as Rudolph
all year long, as I suppose
I shouldn't have used superglue;
That was a bad mistake.
Still, if I hadn't told you,
who'd have guessed my nose was fake?


© Celia Warren 2015

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.