Adam's Images

By ajt

Bright Idea

Over the weekend while looking for something else I realised I had a small Phillips LED lamp sitting around unused. We had one light fitting still using halogen that I had bought it for but not got round to installing it, so yesterday I put it in. It now uses 4 W of electricity instead of 40 W, and will run a lot cooler. I hadn't put this old lamp away in case there were any problems - CFLs did strange things in the socket in the past but so far the LED has been well behaved - so this halogen is now redundant.

I thought I'd blip it though as it's an interesting shape. While more efficient that plain incandescent lamps that it replaces, they still produce a lot of heat and are no way nearly as efficient as CFL or LED. Their only advantages are that they don't weigh much and they work well in dimmers. As we don't use a dimmer in the loo, this lamp's days have been numbered for a while...

On a different schedule this week, so after work it was the pool rather than badminton. I even bought a couple of cheap fleeces in town on my way to the pool as I was cold at work all day again, even with a vest on under my shirt. Trespass do sell some nice stuff but you have to be careful, one fleece in men's size S is considerably larger than a similar fleece (different colour) in size M. The cut and finish does vary quite a lot and I wouldn't trust their stuff enough to buy on line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.