October 4th Journal

By IONAX

25 Hill street

The small dark house with the red roof was once the tallest building on Hill street - Icelandic Holts-gata - and this is the house my father and his two brothers built on their mother's lot. My paternal grandmother moved in to the cellar, youngest brother on the first floor, my father on the second and the oldest one on the top.
As you can see on the inserted picture the top floor is higher on the other side. The two small houses were my paternal grandmother's houses, although I can't remember the square one - it was gone when I remember, only the one with the gable remained. The house was built in 1935 so the picture is taken shortly after that.
The yellow house was built by my father's brother-in-law. He and my father met when they were shipmates on a fishing boat. My father brought him home and he fell in love... and so it goes.
I lived here from the day I was borne in 1944 to 1950 when we moved to a bigger house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.