TimeLapse

By JillyMint

We can make a lot of mess!

Remember mum and dad? Well these are the offspring. There are actually three in there (well I suppose there could be more but I have actually seen three). Tight fit!
The pile of poo underneath the nest is now growing (might blip that sometime!) and by the end of the season will have reached mountainous proportions! Unlike most other birds the house martin chicks return to the nest each night (and sometimes a good proportion of the day) after fledging so until they actually migrate the pile of poo will grow. If you look in large you can see they have little tufts of hair on the sides of their heads - anyone know what they are?
I didn't get back from the barn owl box until about 9.30 last night. At about 8pm three of the four chicks came out of the box and two of them then had a whale of a time exploring the barn, wing strertching and clambering around. Hopping rather than flying but it won't be long before flight proper. Mum is on her own, we don't know what happened to dad. No blips - you need a licence to photgraph the nest.
As I was leaving I was treated to another thrill - a hobby chasing the swallows around the farm. Wow was that a sight - can they move fast!! They are like the greyhounds of the hawks - long, sleek and fast. No chance for me to ever get on camera.
Work today - sat at the computer for pretty much all of the day so I won't be able to do much on here tonight (very stiff).
Thanks to everyone for the stars and hearts that helped my little kamikaze friend and the dragonfly to reach the spotlight. I am overcome with all your compliments and do appreciate all the time you take, especially when I cannot always do the same for your wonderful entries.
Have a wonderful weekend. Jill xxxxx
Canon 1d; 105mm; ISO400; f/4; 1/250"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.