The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blue sky thinking

Blue sky has been a rare commodity recently, Gus and I celebrated it today with a walk up the Helm at lunchtime while dodging the showers.

Gus looks like he might be thinking about something - perhaps what a pleasant change it is to go out and not get wet.  And what a relief it is that he doesn't have to be towelled down when he gets back to the car.  

I was musing about how much he thinks, and what he thinks about just before I left the office.  He may not be a profound thinker, but he clearly does think.  One piece of evidence:-   he doesn't like polished floors, but if he's distracted he'll walk across one quite happily.  If he has time to think though, he freezes like a novice ice skater who is thinking too much about how to balance and not fall over. 

He can count as well, at least as far as two.  On his walk over the Knott, one of his treat stops is a two treat stop.  He won't let me past him until I have given him the second one.  I wonder if I can train him to count to three or more?

I've been thinking it's a week since the last blip (excepting one back blip). The dire weather, darkness in the  mornings and evenings, and work commitments are all conspiring against me.  At this rate the 1460 will be in 2016 - if we are all still here then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.