Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Green and Grey at Grasmere

Back home now after 3 nights in the Lakes - thunder, lightning, biblical rain and bursting clouds, rainbows, inspirations, drenching and drying; delightful :o)

This is the view from just below Alcock Tarn, a hidden gem above Grasmere. The view is into Grasmere with Helm Crag and Steel Fell the visible peaks. A short excursion on the drive back home :o)

If you're interested in the whole trip;

Tuesday we had hoped to do Scafell Pike but a slight delay meant we chose a shorter walk that took us up Grisedale Pike and Hopegill Head. These are two of my favourite peaks, both look like mini Matterhorns! The weather was kind until Hopegill Head when we got a bit of a drenching. The walk is the beginning of the Coledale Round. It's one of thos where if you have the time and the fitness you can add extra peaks on and vary the route; but as we were lacking in time we headed into the valley and missed some of the peaks that you can see in Tuesday's Blip (well identified Stustod :o) )

Headed to the hotel we were staying at in Rosthwaite - I won't name it but it wasn't first choice (First choice in that area is always Langstrath but you have to book early!), so we ate at the Langstrath instead - awesome food. Truly.

Wednesday we wanted to visit the West Coast - never been before other than drive through's, and inspired by superb photo's from Trevorearthy, Biblinros, Gladders to name but a few, we went to St. Bees. A beautiful location and I bet even better when the sun shines off the sea, but today, no sunshine, but plenty of epic views across the sea and birds that I couldn't focus on. We did the first few miles of the Coast to Coast walk and are now inspired to do the whole thing. The rain didn't put us off - just need to do a bit of planning!

Thursday included warnings of Thunder and Lightning but we knew we had a short window in the morning before the threat so we headed to a peak that for some reason had eluded us before - Fleetwith Pike (well indentified Earthdreamer - a fine view indeed!) I took many photo's on the way up of 'Grim'. The clouds were epic and the skirted the mountain tops like wisps of smoke while their thick rain filled cousins hovered overhead toying with us and dropping occasional drips just to remind us of what was to come.

As we got to the summit and we witnessed the spectacular view of Buttermere and Crummock Water, the clouds burst and rained Holy Hell on our hooded heads! I had to get my camera into my rucksack before it got wet and I cursed the missed blipportunities. We've all been there - we all know!

There was no let up - there wasn't going to be a let up. The walk had been so enjoyable - despite the rain - we're not made of sugar and we won't melt, but camera's can be ruined, but I really wanted that view of Beautiful Buttermere.

Just as we were leaving I turned and there had been a break - and there was a bloody rainbow! Below! My heart hammered so hard I was a wreck! You've never seen a rucksack fly from a back so fast - it was still raining but I was going to take that photo even if I only had time to take one before risking the life of my loyal camera. I managed a few before the bow disappeared and the view sunk into mist and murk.

And so a really good few days away - I wanted sunshine and outdoor pints of golden ale, but I'd never have got yesterdays rainbow or todays clouds. If you want epic you've got to have weather :o)

(p.s. if you've suffered because of this weather - I hope the above didn't sound flippant!)

Thank you so much for the hearts, for the comments, for the stars, for yesterday's rainbow and for all of the recent Lake District blips. I've had no chance to comment or to say thanks but now that I'm home I'll be doing my best to catch up - I bet I've missed some *brilliant* blips!

Enjoy the weekend Blippers :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.