pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Iris Folding Christmas Trees

I woke at 7.45 before my Saturday alarm and listened to the wind banging Henry's bedroom door. He insists on having his window open wide at night! At 8 I decided to get up and make tea, wash up and put in the first load of washing. It was a productive start to the day.

Once everyone else was up, and Jon had walked the dogs, we drove in to Holt to get the tyre fixed and to browse the shops. I managed to get a few Christmas presents. The shops in Holt are mostly independent and many (but not all) quite up market. We like it there. It is always worth the opportunity to window shop even when we aren't buying. The wind was biting, but rain not snow. We had coffee in Baker & Larners then home for a late lunch as the tyre place was very busy.

After a bit of hoovering, more washing put in and out and cleaning the bathroom, I sat down to do some craft stuff. I've been wanting to make a few Christmas cards. I like the art of iris folding which is something I used to do with 1st Linton Guides (I miss you Sarah, Helen & Rachel) so I found a tree template online and had a go. I made the green one & Mollie made the pink one. We used paper cut out of magazines. It is so effective and actually quite relaxing. It makes a mess though - but that's normal for me in whatever I do! I am now designing a template for baubles. It may work, it may not!

Mollie has been planning her birthday cake and we appear to have made a decision. Where food is concerned Mollie is always 100% focused. For the day, I'm just going to do what she tells me!

We have all been glued to Strictly, whilst cooking chestnuts on an open fire. Henry lit a few candles. Very atmospheric.

Jon made a nice prawn curry for dinner & we've even opened a bottle of red wine. We discussed where we might put our Christmas tree. Good job we have another week (or two) to decide!

Christmas always makes me happy, and especially the build up and planning.

I don't care what people think about how early Christmas should start. I think it is actually beginning to feel a little bit Christmassy......& that makes me happy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.