November's Last Rose

With a chill sweeping over the land, we can almost hear the seasons turning. I hear it in the wind. I smell it in the air. The cold is coming. The snow is coming. Maybe not right this second, but soon. I have seen it written on the sky.

I have been watching the weather forecasts closely, as I've needed to bring the Dancing Girls inside when the nights have gotten too chilly for them. I looked at the forecast last week; saw that the nights will now be consistently too cold for them.

I don't have a good indoor space to host the Dancing Girls' fuchsia plant for the winter at home, so I took them in to work with me on Friday morning. "Take your Dancing Girls to work day," I thought, and I snickered to myself.

And so I will try to always keep a handful of gals at home, but their plant will be located at work. I will keep posting Dancing Girls photos as long as the blooms last. Some of you may remember that last fall, we had Dancing Girls well through Christmas!

In this photo, the Dancing Girls and their trusty cat-steeds - and the Crittergators, of course - are admiring the last rose in its glass display case. The rose reminds me a bit of the one in the Disney film, Beauty and the Beast. And so it is that we find ourselves watching and waiting for the last petal to fall.

There is a song that has always been a favorite of mine, Elton John's marvelous Candle in the Wind, which was written as a tribute to Marilyn Monroe (whom my husband and I adore). However, when Lady Diana passed away - tragically, far too soon - Sir Elton modified the lyrics to create a lovely tribute to her. (For the record, American girls of my age adored Diana and tried to emulate her, and she is sorely missed.) Here is Elton John with Candle in the Wind/Good-bye England's Rose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.