High Contrast

Higher Contrast (recommended)

This current spell of summer weather isn't good for much, and certainly not cricket (which looks likely to be curtailed yet again this weekend for my lads), but it's certainly good for photography. The contrasts of light and shade this last week have been amazing. After another long day at the office, of which nothing is really worth saying, I swapped the bike for my running shoes again this evening to go up on the moor, To call it a run, though, is a bit of a stretch because it was at best a jog, interspersed with frequent stops to sit and watch the play of light when the sun spasmodically broke through the cloud cover, casting narrow swathes of dazzling light across the landscape.

It was just like last night when you had to have the camera ready at all times to catch the moment. This photograph was one such occasion, and it was very short-lived. No sooner had I taken this picture and the light had disappeared. I've been very happy with all the blips I've posted this last week, and this one is no different. It captures the mood of this month so well. And it also captures the feel of the high moorland. I shouldn't really moan about work when I'm able to find an escape up here so easily. Life is all about contrasts for me, and that is at the very heart of photography too. I'm always looking for contrast, both in terms of light and in content. It surely is the key to a striking image.

As I started writing this journal entry I was completely stuck for a title for this but it's ended up coming naturally out of the flow of the writing. I'm never completely satisfied with a blip until I have found a good caption so I will retire to bed content in that respect now. And that will be soon. I've got a bit of sleep to catch up with as well all of you out there who have been so generous with your comments and stars and favourites. I thank you again. I hope you don't mind if I put sleep first tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.