Blackcap

I saw this Blackcap just up the road this morning after I'd been for a wander down the track. I did see a squirrel and have put a few shots on my Flickr if you need a fix.
I also a couple of Fieldfare (also on Flickr because they were too far away). 

According to this article on the BTO website Blackcaps are adapting their feeding habits to exploit human-provisioned foods, complementing recent evidence that those Blackcaps migrating to Britain in winter are diverging phenotypically, as well as genetically, from those that winter in Spain. Blackcaps wintering in Britain have relatively narrower and longer beaks than those wintering in Spain, suggesting that British migrants have adapted to a more generalist diet. The study provides new and timely evidence of the role that human activities can play in shaping the evolutionary trajectories of wild bird populations.

I'll have to check it's beak next time to see if it's a winter visitor or resident!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.