Dancersend

By Dancersend

Winter Chanterelle

I've had a very busy couple of days. Yesterday, I was involved in an all-day Network Rail consultation on biodiversity opportunities for the new East-West rail line - so no photo opportunities. Today, it's been the Bucks Invertebrate Group autumn meeting. However, afterwards I managed a short walk in my favourite beech woods, just as the light was fading.

This was one of the few clumps of fungus still showing strongly above the woodland floor. It is one of the species commonly known as 'Winter Chanterelles', similar to the well-known, highly-valued Chanterelle, but generally showing later in the year. I think this must be Pseudocraterellus undulatus, Sinuous Chanterelle, but it is more yellow than I remember finding them and I'm a bit confused after consulting a number of books. Of course, I should have brought a specimen back to check properly.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.