Happy Birthday, Kathy!

Dear Diary,

I am 9 1/2 years older than my sister so her birth was a really big deal.  It was also a time of some anxiety as two other women friends of my mother had been pregnant and lost their babies in September and October.  So when little Kathy Toni was born healthy we were all so relieved.  She was given the middle name of Toni to honor my father's favorite brother and his father as well. 

I delighted in my baby sister but our age difference was a problem in the end.  I became a teenager, with all the nonsense that brings, and the age difference kept us from ever staying close.  But in the early days I remember loving to buy her little things with my allowance.  She was the most adorable child.  It is also her first wedding anniversary today so two reasons to celebrate!  Best wishes and much happiness to my little sister today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.