Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...sweet memories

We arrived in Portland after a long day of flying and are settled at my parents condo in Beaverton. Have had a great time visiting and catching up.

When we got here, my eyes landed on this scene, which took me back 50 years to when I was a very young girl living in Cold Bay, Alaska, near the Bering Sea. We would find these big glass floats on the shore there where they would wash up after storms. These are hand blown glass balls that were used in the 50s and 60s by Japanese fishing boats to float their nets. They've long since been replaced by more modern and lightweight floats so these old glass ones are collectors items. My mom had these stashed away in a box and just recently got around to putting them out. The minute I saw them, it took me right back - such good memories. Great way to start the week.

So, a bit of a different blip from me today...and one that was taken with my iPhone!

I will be sporadic with comments this week, but will catch up when time allows.

And I should warn you that there may be a javelina sighting this week... Just saying'...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.