The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Growing up

She's over two and a half years old now, and is still a long way from full grown.  But look at how her horns (and fringe) have grown since 3 January (link removed as it took you to a Polaroid advert - a bad sign, they're taking over). I promised to feature portraits of the 4 young Highlands in Redhills Pasture, and she is the first.  She has something missing, something all cows in the European Union should have.

Gus and I came home from work early, waiting for a delivery that didn't arrive.  Later this evening, Gus was attacked by an Alsatian in the wood in the dark that bit him on his shoulder.  The man with him apologised, and I said it was ok.  But it wasn't ok, and I should have said so.  The Alsatian made an unprovoked attack on a gentle creature who is not capable of aggression.  It should have been on a lead or muzzled, and I should have said so.

Gus has had a difficult time lately.  A week ago he hurt his back.  He's getting older, and running round like a young sheepdog trying to round up his friend Rowan aggravated what we think is an old injury.

I had a busy week too.  I travelled to see the Old Flyer in Southampton, and although he is so well cared for, he has been unwell recently, and he is still very weak and tired.  The weather has been bad, and I haven't felt inspired with the camera.  I went over a week without taking a photograph.  I was grateful today for the little Highlands, always photogenic whatever the weather.  There's another photo of her in the Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.