WALKING ON WEDNESDAY

After a few cloudy, wet and windy days, today dawned bright and sunny, so I persuaded Mr. HCB that we should go for a walk instead of him getting up on the garage roof to sort that out.  I took lots of photographs and although some people say a collage is cheating, I really couldn’t decide on just one!

We went to a local park called The Town Gardens, and had a lovely walk round.  We met Paul, in the high viz jacket, who was sweeping the leaves in the rose garden - I stopped and chatted with him and said what a wonderful job he was doing;  he told us he had been doing lots of sweeping, but said he hoped there wouldn’t be too many more to come down!  When I asked if I could take his photograph, he kindly obliged with a lovely smile.

While we were talking to Paul, a little robin came and perched on one of the rose branches and was quite happy to sit and sing for us - Mr. HCB’s mother would have loved that, as the robin was her favourite bird.

We watched as two little ones had great fun in the puddles and I complimented their mothers on allowing them to do so - as many didn’t let their children do it - but as we said, what are wellies for, if not to jump in puddles?  They were both very wet and muddy but didn’t seem to mind and nor did their mothers!

As we walked we saw lots of flowers blooming early as well as many bulbs poking through the soil, and we were even stalked by about four squirrels, who were obviously expecting some food - we think someone must often come and feed them, as there were lots of peanut shells on the ground.  I did say to Mr. HCB that Nicki from Jersey would be happy to see them.  It was so good to be out walking in the sunshine and even better with Mr. HCB beside me;  it makes me realise just how much I've missed doing this.

After our walk, we went into Old Town and Mr. HCB treated me to lunch at The Old Bank - we are going out for a meal to friends tonight, so we just had a bacon roll - and of course, I had to put up one of my Post-it Notes on their Christmas tree - see my extra photograph.  

“The only friend to walk with 
     is one who so exactly 
          shares your taste 
               for each mood of the countryside 
that a glance, 
     a halt, 
          or at most a nudge, 
               is enough to assure us 
that the pleasure is shared.” 
C.S. Lewis

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.