Gillsabroad

By gillsabroad

Olive trees

The olive tree is one of great beauty - this one in my garden has been here for a very long time. It has a low, gnarled trunk that is resistant to decay and is also known as the 'tree of eternity' because of its ability to regenerate. Around the world, especially in this region, the olive tree is a symbol for life, hope, peace, wisdom and victory.

I have lots and lots in my garden and they will always be a reminder of how much I have enjoyed my time in the Middle East and how friendly and helpful the people are. Oh, and my enduring bad back, exacerbated in part by picking olives in the autumn, is soothed somewhat by enjoying the fabulous olive oil that my hard earned labour produces at the local olive press!

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow."
Albert Einstein



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.