Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Perth to Skye via Mallaig

It's not the sensible route. It'd be far more sensible to do Perth to Skye via the Skye Bridge, but the romantic in me still thinks the only way to get on to our honeymoon isle is via ferry and RCB reminds me that last year we had great views of Manx Shearwaters from this ferry. So today it's Perth to Skye via Mallaig.

It's a weeks climbing I've got planned with my climbing mates interspersed with a few days birdwatching with Mrs L. We did this trip last year, but I didn't climb at all, in fact with the aid of my blip diary I can tell you the last time I was on the rock was back on 31st May 2011, that's far too long ago.

A bit of a bonus in todays journey is the meeting up with Willllwynbedw. In this small community that is Blipworld it should be no surprise that a Kendal based blipper and a Hertfordshire based blipper should have worked out that their paths would cross when the Kendal blipper was cycling from Broadford to catch the Mallaig ferry while the Hertfordshire blipper was driving from the Mallaig ferry towards Broadford.

We met just at the top of the hill out of Broadford, not a coffee shop in sight. So with a promise of a lift back up the hill Willllwynbedw chained his bike to a nearby fence and we headed off to Broadford. A brief but excellent blipmeet. In this Venn Diagram world of blippers it struck me how much in common Willllwynbedw had with the two climbing blippers that I was about to meet up with, Cancarrier & Rancidand and yet may never have come across their journals. I suppose it's shared interests that attract us together in blipland so probably not that surprising, mind you to plan a trip to New Zealand to meet a blipper for the first time does sound a bit extreme Mr & Mrs W!!

Heading on to Simon's house Mick & Kathy were already there with their caravan set up in his drive, Chef John was getting the evening meal sorted, Simon arrived ten minutes later and then Rancidand with Cancarrier having picked up Irish John en-route. The gathering is complete.

Today's photo should have been Willllwynbedw on his bike, but I didn't get the camera out, instead you've got the statue from Mallaig harbour. I believe it is highlighting the dangers of Osteoporosis in young children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.