Florida comes to Teddington

I met SueL in Bushy Park today and in spite of the dull skies and strong winds we took a number of bird pictures. I haven't used any here as they were undoubtedly far inferior to Sue's!

We walked over to the Woodland Garden and I stuck with my usual plant Blips! These pneumatophores are specialized root structures that grow out from the water and make it possible for a tree that grows in very wet situations to obtain oxygen.

These examples are from Taxodium distichum, the Florida Swamp Cypress, growing alongside the Longford River as it flows through the Woodland Garden. There are several large specimens of these beautiful trees here. Back in the late 60s and early 70s this was my place of work before I emigrated to Scotland!

One extra is of more pneumatophores and the other of Sue stalking a swan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.