Walking the Line

Met up with DrMackem this evening for a long overdue catch-up on life, the universe and everything. It seemed scarcely possible that we hadn't seen each other in over six months, since a trip to the Lakes togeter back in May. Where has the time gone? We had made promises then to do some more running and have some more mini-adventures this year, but for various reasons, it just never happened. We resolved that it would do in 2016!

It's been a very grey, murky day again, somewhat reflecting the state of my head. Once again, each little job I take on at work seems to grow into a big job. Nothing is ever straightforward. I was explaining this to the good doctor over a pint this evening. I came up with a useful analogy. It's like I'm a footballer, playing in the Premiership, but twenty years after I should have retired. I'm forced to play at a level far beyond where my fitness now lies. The ball is passed to me but I can't control it. The skills I once enjoyed have deserted me. It's not a good position to be in. I can't derive any satisfaction from the game any more. 

This little boy was enjoying himself. It nudged memories of the playground at school, where, being the introvert that I am, I used to spend playtime running around the lines on the playground, endlessly, lap after lap, going around in square circles. It seems to have set a pattern I've followed for the rest of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.