The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Kimi Some Power Please

Forty hours now with 20 human family members, eight canine family members and no electricity or running water. Oh yes...... I almost forgot the heat index of 102 degrees.

The storm hit the entire power grid and there is no telling when we will be back up and running. The last time this happened, about five years ago, we were without power for nearly four days. The town was hit very hard by this storm and there were quite a few homes that were severely damaged. Nearly 8,000 homes in the area are without power and I drove around for nearly six hours to find a store which had an in stock generator. Most had sold out by 830 am. I found one and have it powering our refrigerator and a few fans, and, of course my iPad charger and my camera battery charger. Many cell towers have been knocked out so getting a cellular connection is nearly impossible. Luckily, I finally got one at 11:15 pm to post this blip. But it does not seem to have uup loaded correctly. I only have one bar of connection and it seems to have lost clarity on the upload. Oh well, it is a blip.

That said, the entire family spent the afternoon on the beach, took a long boat ride, ate well, cracked many really old jokes and laughed often and hard enough to hurt our sides.

This wonderfully beautiful lab is Kimi. He is the pup of my nephew Nick and his wife Ashley. Nick just returned from a very long stint overseas as he is a US Navy officer. I had not seen Nick in nearly three years. Oh my, I felt such joy when I saw Kimi come running towards me on the beach, knowing that I would see Nick a few moments later. There we were, two grown men acting like kids again at the water's edge.

Today was the first day in my nearly 200 days on blip where I was unable to view or comment on another persons image. Imam just now reading the lovely comments you left me For my blip of yesterday. Between the lack of power and cell phone coverage and trying to make my family comfortable, it was not possible to visit with any of you. But, thank you for leaving me such wonderful comments and warm wishes regarding my family reunion and the rather challenging circumstances which are surrounding it. Many of you pointed out that a lack of electricity can cause rolled to "rally around the candle". I think it is true but I also think, after thirty hours, the guests would love to have the luxuries which electricity can provide. I for one am dying for a proper espresso from my favorite machine.

Hopefully, we will renter the electric age tomorrow. Isabella just came back from two weeks at camp without electricity or running water. Then, 24 hours after she is home, she is faced with identical circumstances. Tis a great irony for a thirteen year old girl.

Hope to catch up with you all soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.